



Doc. 14455 Add. 2 17 January 2018

Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

Progress report

Bureau of the Assembly

1. Report of the Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

The Committee held a meeting in Paris on 12 January 2018 with Mr Boriss Cilevičs (Latvia, SOC), in the Chair.

2. Introduction

The Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights assessed the list of the candidates to the Court in respect of Spain.¹

3. Conclusion of the Committee on the list of candidates submitted by Spain

The Committee interviewed all the candidates on 12 January 2018.

The Committee recommends to the Assembly, by a large majority, Mr José Martín y Pérez De Nanclares as the most qualified candidate.

^{1.} See Appendix 1 for the list of candidates submitted by the Government concerned. A full list and curriculum vitae of candidates can be found in Assembly document: Doc. 14460.



F - 67075 Strasbourg Cedex | assembly@coe.int | Tel: +33 3 88 41 2000 | Fax: +33 3 88 41 2733

Doc. 14455 Add. 2 Progress report

Appendix 1 – List of candidates submitted by the Government of Spain

- Ms María ELÓSEGUI ICHASO
- Mr José MARTÍN y PÉREZ DE NANCLARES
- Mr Francisco de Asís PÉREZ DE LOS COBOS ORIHUEL

Appendix 2 – Members of the Committee who participated in the meeting

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

- Mr Rónán MULLEN, Ireland
- Mr Attila TILKI, Hungary

Socialist Group (SOC)

- Lord Donald ANDERSON, United Kingdom, 2nd Vice-Chairperson
- Ms Eka BESELIA, Georgia
- Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Latvia, Chairperson
- Mr Titus CORLĂŢEAN, Romania
- Mr Evangelos VENIZELOS, Greece

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

Mr Jordi XUCLÀ, Spain

European Conservatives Group (EC)

Lord David BLENCATHRA, United Kingdom

Ex Officio

- Ms Olena SOTNYK, Ukraine, Chairperson of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights
 Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly
- Mr Wojciech SAWICKI, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
- Mr Günter SCHIRMER, Head of the Secretariat